1-width of the boat.

You need to know the width of your boat: this measure is important because it is essential to determine the length of your paddle. There is a multitude of Kayak on the market, however it is easy to determine 3 sizes:

small: from 48 to 55 cm

medium: from 57 to 63 cm
wide: from 65 cm

Attention: the values shown in the table of choice at the bottom of the page are those for vessels corresponding to the medium category. You must reduce these dimensions by 5 cm if your boat belongs to the category “small” or increase it by 5 cm if your boat belongs to the category “large”.

 

2-your size

 

The size is also decisive for the length of the paddle. If you measure between 1m55 and 1m65, your paddle will be smaller than a person measuring between 1m75 and 1m85; and if you measure more than 1m90, your paddle will be even bigger. Whatever type of boat you are using.
We offer two adjustment systems that allow you to change the length of your paddle (S-lock system and fast-lock system)

3-the style of your paddle stroke

2 different styles:

“high angle” > the paddle is close to the hull of the boat, the directional stability is good. This is the dynamic paddle: the rates are high and the search for support is important. The power is the goal to do either fast maneuvering, physical training, or evolve under difficult conditions. It is a bit the European style taught in many paddle schools.
“Low angle” > the water intake is more soft and the rates are lower. The movement of the paddle is more circular. directional stability on boats without drift or rudder is less good. A less tiring style for muscles and joints on long exits. Very good also against pathologies of back pain. The “low angle” style comes from North America.

4-blade size

This is based on the level of the paddler and its physical condition:

Large: for powerful paddlers and in good physical condition.
Medium: the most representative size is the most versatile size.

This can be compared to the bike gear: a wide blade takes a lot more water and the Cadence will be lower and therefore require more power. With a medium blade, the Cadence can increase without having a strong power to develop.

5-the angle of crossing of the blades

What’s the point?
We owe this crossing angle to the race kayak racers online. They found that the blades forming an angle of 90 ° in relation to each other offered significantly less aerodynamic resistance than the air blade. This advantage was even more pronounced by face wind or much of the paddle’s energy was lost to push air-not to mention the decrease in Cadence due to this resistance.

After decades of crossing at 90 °, the angles were reduced to:

60 ° on almost all touring paddles
55 ° in race online
45 ° on white water paddles.

This decrease in angle made the paddle more comfortable: the 30 ° and 45 ° less allowed to limit the movement of the wrist (mainly right) responsible for the swivel.

Crossed left or right crossed?
90 people are crossed right.
For the left Crusaders, don’t panic we realize these paddles on demand.
The Vario S-lock system also offers the possibility of adjusting the crossing angles.

6-the handle.
The right sleeve remains the most used. The location of the hands is free throughout its length.
The ergonomic handle allows to keep the alignment of the arm with the hand.
This translates into fewer joint stresses on the wrist and much more contact surface on the handle. It’s a comfortable grip. We recommend this type of handle on the paddles of “touring” to experienced paddlers who master their hand placement perfectly, because the reduced ergonomic area imposes a very precise positioning.
On “white water” paddles, usually less than 2 meters in length, hand placement is much more instinctively, and the ERGO handle can provide ease of use from the first uses.

7-paddle fixed or adjustable length.
Some purists swear by the fixed paddles: we were in this case before developing our own adjustable sleeves. Most of the proposed systems lack reliability in rotating deadlocks. Our unique manufacturing technology allows us to maintain the bending values of our tubes despite the manchonnage. From this observation, we have developed our own adjustment systems and especially developed adjustable tubes with constant bending. We therefore offer fixed paddles and adjustable paddles (3 systems):

Fixed or Mono: this option means that you have a fixed paddle without adjusting adjustment system. The length and angle are unique.
Vario S-lock: the Vario S-lock offers 10 cm adjustment and an infinite crossover angle choice. It also allows to adjust its paddle with a greater finesse. This option is recommended for all paddlers who want to configure their paddle in an extremely safe way.
Vario s-lock 2: new adjustment system, the Vario S-lock 2 is an evolution of the S-lock system. Lightweight and compact, the S-lock 2 Vario works without tools. It offers the same range of adjustment (10 cm) as the Vario S-lock with an infinite crossover angle choice. Extremely fast to use, it allows to adjust its paddle with an extreme finesse. This option is recommended for all paddlers who want to set up their paddle regularly.
Fast lock: the fast-lock offers 9 cm adjustment in intervals of 3 cm. It allows to quickly adjust the length of its paddle without changing its angle of crossing. This option is recommended for all paddlers wishing to have a removable paddle without worrying about the crossing angle.

8-oval tube or round tube
The ovalizer has no obligatory character, but provides extra comfort on the hand that controls the crossing; usually the right hand. It is also a plus in difficult conditions (Eskimo, navigation in the current Fort, etc…) where it is difficult to know how the hand is placed relative to the blade. On our sleeves, the ovalisation is carried out by the shape of the tube: the ovalizer is integrated in the handle.
“Racing” paddles are delivered without an ovalizer. However, you can ask for them as accessories. We strongly advise not to add an ovalizer to the competition paddles, so as not to disturb the paddle stroke.

9-your kayak practice.
Obviously, the last parameter remains mainly your choice of practice of the discipline: you have already had to answer it when acquiring your kayak or canöe.
At the kayak level, 3 practices are distinguished:

Touring: practice of river or sea hikes;
White water: practice in whitewater;
Online race: competitive practice.

3 tables based on navigation practices have been established.
These tables are fairly accurate in their recommendations, so you can use them with confidence to choose your paddle.

Choose your “touring” paddle
The values shown in this table are those for vessels corresponding to the medium category. You need to reduce these dimensions by 5 cm if your boat belongs to the category “small”, or increase it by 5 cm if your boat belongs to the category “large”.

Touring paddle high-angle
User size length paddle paddle patterns
adjustable fixed
152 > 160 cm 205 200 > 210 X.tr-x. blade x. Trek-x. fiber-x. one
162 > 170 cm 210 205 > 215 X.tr-x. blade x. Trek-x. fiber-x. one
172 > 180 cm 215 210 > 220 X.tr-x. blade x. Trek-x. fiber-x. one
182 > 190 cm 220 215 > 225 X.tr-x. blade x. Trek-x. fiber-x. one
192 > 200 cm 225 220 > 230 X.tr-x. blade x. Trek-x. fiber-x. one

Low-angle touring paddle
User size length paddle paddle patterns
adjustable fixed
152 > 160 cm 210 205 > 215 X.tr-x. blade x. Trek-x. fiber-x. one
162 > 170 cm 215 210 > 220 X.tr-x. blade x. Trek-x. fiber-x. one
172 > 180 cm 220 215 > 225 X.tr-x. blade x. Trek-x. fiber-x. one
182 > 190 cm 225 220 > 230 X.tr-x. blade x. Trek-x. fiber-x. one
192 > 200 cm 235 230 > 240 X.tr-x. blade x. Trek-x. fiber-x. one

Choose your paddle “white water”
The size of the paddle depends a lot on the type of boats used. The volume is to be taken into consideration: a short paddle will be interesting for beginners and Rodeo (difficult to make tricks with a bulky paddle). A shorter paddle will give more power in difficult rivers, where maneuvering will have to be very accurate. This table is a help, and is by no means anything to impose. It simply reflects the trend of practice on the world market.

Advice for low volume vessels: consider the first value recommended in red.

Paddle white water
User size length paddle paddle patterns
fixed adjustable
ergonomic right
152 > in 160 cm 185
194 188 > 198 186 > 190 Warrior-pulse-blast-W1-impact ride
162 > in 170 cm 188
197 191 > 201 188 > 192 Warrior-pulse-blast-W1-impact ride
172 > in 180 cm 191
201 191 > 201 192 > 196 Warrior-pulse-blast-W1-impact ride
182 > in 190 cm 194
204 194 > 204 194 > 198 Warrior-pulse-blast-W1-impact ride
192 > in 200 cm 197
207 194 > 204 190 > 200 Warrior-pulse-blast-W1-impact ride

Choose your paddle “canöe”
Here’s a simple way to measure how long a canoe paddle is.
Sit on a Chair or on the floor, and measure the distance between your eyes and the seat. This measure will help you choose your paddle in the following table. Attention this is only a way to validate an approach; the best thing to choose a paddle, if you have the opportunity, is to give it a try.

Canöé paddle
Measured length paddle blades wide blades medium
adjustable fixed
66 > 67 cm 130-C1 C1
71 > in 72 cm 135
140-C1 C1
76 > in 77 cm 140
145 140 > 150 C1 C1
81 > in 82 cm 145
150 145 > 155 C1 C1
85 > in 88 cm 150
155 150 > 160 C1 C1
90 > 91 cm 160 155 > 165 C1 C1
95 > 97 cm 165 155 > 165 C1 C1

Une bonne pagaie doit se faire oublier quelque soit votre niveau, celle-ci doit avant tout être confortable et permettre une gestuelle harmonieuse et relâchée.
Pour faire le bon choix, plusieurs paramètres sont à prendre en compte :

 

1 – Largeur du bateau

Vous devez connaître la largeur de votre bateau : cette mesure est importante car essentielle pour déterminer la longueur de votre pagaie. Il y a une multitude de kayak sur le marché, néanmoins il est facile de déterminer 3 tailles :

Small : de 48 à 55 cm
Medium : de 57 à 63 cm
Large : à partir de 65 cm

Attention : Les valeurs indiquées dans les tableaux de choix en bas de page sont celles pour des bateaux correspondant à la catégorie Medium. Il vous faut diminuer ces dimensions de 5 cm si votre bateau appartient à la catégorie « Small » ou l’augmenter de 5 cm si votre bateau appartient à la catégorie « Large ».

 

2- Votre taille

La taille est aussi déterminante pour la longueur de la pagaie. Si vous mesurez entre 1m55 et 1m65, votre pagaie sera plus petite qu’une personne qui mesure entre 1m75 et 1m85. Et si vous mesurez plus de 1m90, votre pagaie sera encore plus grande, quelque soit le type de bateau que vous utilisez.
Nous proposons deux systèmes de réglage qui vous permettent de modifier la longueur de votre pagaie (S-Lock system et Fast-Lock system).

 

3 – Le style de votre coup de pagaie

2 styles différents :

« High angle »  > La pagaie est proche de la carène du bateau, la stabilité directionnelle est bonne. C’est le coup de pagaie dynamique : Les cadences sont élevées et la recherche de l’appui est importante. La puissance est l’objectif recherché pour faire soit des manoeuvres rapides, un entrainement physique, ou évoluer dans des conditions difficiles. C’est un peu le style européen  enseigné dans de nombreuses écoles de pagaie.

« Low angle » > La prise d’eau est plus soft et les cadences sont moins élevées. Le mouvement de la pagaie est plus circulaire. la stabilité directionnelle sur les bateaux sans dérive ou gouvernail est moins bonne. Un style moins fatiguant pour les muscles et les articulations sur les longues sorties. Très bon également contre les pathologies du mal de dos. Le style « Low angle » vient de l’Amérique du nord.

 

4 – La taille des pales

Celle-ci est fonction du niveau du pagayeur et de sa condition physique :

Large :  Pour les pagayeurs puissants et en bonne condition physique.
Medium : la taille la plus représentative c’est la taille la plus polyvalente.

On peut comparer cela au braquet de vélo : une pale large prend beaucoup plus d’eau et la cadence sera plus faible et nécessitera donc plus de puissance. Avec une pale medium, la cadence peut augmenter sans avoir une forte puissance à développer.

 

5 – L’angle de croisement des pales

A quoi ça sert ?
Nous devons cet angle de croisement aux coureurs de kayak de course en ligne. Ils se sont aperçus que les pales formant un angle de 90 ° l’une par rapport à l’autre offraient nettement moins de résistance aérodynamique que la pale aérienne. Cet avantage était encore plus marqué par vent de face ou une bonne partie de l’énergie du coup de pagaie était perdu pour pousser de l’air – sans parler de la diminution de la montée en cadence dûe à cette résistance.

Après des décennies de croisement à 90 °, les angles ont été ramenés à :

60° sur la quasi-totalité des pagaies de « touring »
55 ° en course en ligne
45°sur les pagaies « white water ».

Cette diminution de l’angle a rendu le coup de pagaie plus confortable : les 30° et 45° en moins ont permis de limiter le mouvement du poignet (droit principalement) responsable du pivotement.

Croisé gauche ou croisé droit ?
90 % des gens sont croisés droit.
Pour les croisés gauche, pas de panique nous réalisons ces pagaies à la demande.
Le Vario S-Lock Système offre aussi la possibilité de régler les angles de croisement.

 

6 – Le manche

Le manche droit reste le plus utilisé. L’emplacement des mains est libre sur toute sa longueur.
Le manche ergonomique permet de conserver l’alignement du bras avec la main.
Cela se traduit par moins de contraintes articulaires sur le poignet et beaucoup plus de surface en contact sur le manche. C’est une prise confortable. Nous conseillons ce type de manche sur les pagaies de « touring » aux pagayeurs expérimentés qui maîtrisent parfaitement leur placement de main, car la zone ergonomique réduite impose un positionnement très précis.
Sur les pagaies « white water », généralement inférieures à 2 mètres de longueur, le placement de main se fait beaucoup plus instinctivement, et le manche ergo peut apporter un confort d’utilisation dès les premières utilisations.

 

7 – Pagaie longueur fixe ou réglable

Certains puristes ne jurent que par les pagaies fixes : nous étions dans ce cas avant de développer nos propres manches réglables. La plupart des systèmes proposés manquent de fiabilité dans les blocages en rotation. Notre technologie de fabrication unique nous permet de conserver les valeurs de flexion de nos tubes malgré le manchonnage. De ce constat, nous avons développé nos propres systèmes de réglage et surtout mis au point des tubes réglables à flexion constante. Nous proposons donc des pagaies fixes et des pagaies réglables (3 systèmes) :

Fixe ou Mono : Cette option signifie que vous disposez d’une pagaie fixe sans système de réglage ajustage. La longueur et l’angle sont uniques.
Vario S-Lock : Le Vario S-Lock offre 10 cm de réglage et un choix d’angle de croisement infini. Il permet également d’ajuster sa pagaie avec une plus grande finesse. Cette option est recommandée pour tous les pagayeurs qui souhaitent configurer au maximum leur pagaie de façon extrêmement sûre.
Vario S-Lock 2 : Nouveau système de réglage, le Vario S-Lock 2 est une évolution du système S-Lock. Léger et compact, le vario S-Lock 2 fonctionne sans outils. Il offre la même amplitude de réglage (10 cm) que la Vario S-Lock avec un choix d’angle de croisement infini. Extrêmement rapide à utiliser, il permet d’ajuster sa pagaie avec une extrème finesse. Cette option est recommandée pour tous les pagayeurs qui souhaitent configurer au maximum leur pagaie régulièrement.
Fast Lock : Le Fast-Lock offre 9 cm de réglage par intervalle de 3 cm. Il permet d’ajuster rapidement la longueur de sa pagaie sans modifier son angle de croisement. Cette option est recommandée pour tous les pagayeurs qui souhaitent disposer d’une pagaie démontable sans se soucier de l’angle de croisement.

 

8 – Tube ovalisé ou tube rond

L’ovalisateur n’a pas de caractère obligatoire, mais apporte un confort supplémentaire sur la main qui contrôle le croisement ; en général la main droite. C’est un plus également dans les conditions difficiles (esquimautage, navigation dans le fort courant, etc…) où il est difficile de savoir comment la main est placée par rapport à la pale. Sur nos manches, l’ovalisation est réalisée par la forme même du tube : l’ovalisateur est intégré au manche.
Les pagaies « Racing » sont livrées sans ovalisateur. Vous pouvez cependant les demander en tant qu’accessoires. Nous conseillons fortement de ne pas ajouter d’ovalisateur aux pagaies de compétition, afin de ne pas perturber le coup de pagaie.

 

9 – Votre pratique du kayak

Evidemment, le dernier paramètre reste principalement votre choix de pratique de la discipline: vous avez déjà dû y répondre lors de l’acquisition de votre kayak ou canöe.
Au niveau du kayak, 3 pratiques se distinguent :

Touring : pratique de la randonnées en rivière ou en mer ;
White Water : pratique en eaux-vives ;
Course en ligne : pratique compétition.

3 tableaux en fonction des pratiques de navigation ont été établis.
Ces tableaux sont assez précis dans leurs recommandations, et vous pouvez donc les utiliser en toute confiance pour choisir votre pagaie.

 

Choisir sa pagaie « Touring »

Les valeurs indiquées dans ce tableau sont celles pour des bateaux correspondant à la catégorie médium. Il vous faut diminuer ces dimensions de 5 cm si votre bateau appartient à la catégorie « Small », ou l’augmenter de 5 cm si votre bateau appartient à la catégorie « Large ».

Pagaie Touring Hi-Angle
Taille de l’utilisateurLongueur PagaieModèles de Pagaie
fixeajustable
152 > 160 cm205200 > 210X.TR – X.Blade – X.Trek – X.Fiber – X.One
162 > 170 cm210205 > 215X.TR – X.Blade – X.Trek – X.Fiber – X.One
172 > 180 cm215210 > 220X.TR – X.Blade – X.Trek – X.Fiber – X.One
182 > 190 cm220215 > 225X.TR – X.Blade – X.Trek – X.Fiber – X.One
192 > 200 cm225220 > 230X.TR – X.Blade – X.Trek – X.Fiber – X.One

 

Pagaie Touring Low-Angle
Taille de l’utilisateurLongueur PagaieModèles de Pagaie
fixeajustable
152 > 160 cm210205 > 215X.TR – X.Blade –  X.Trek – X.Fiber – X.One
162 > 170 cm215210 > 220X.TR – X.Blade – X.Trek – X.Fiber – X.One
172 > 180 cm220215 > 225X.TR – X.Blade –  X.Trek – X.Fiber – X.One
182 > 190 cm225220 > 230X.TR – X.Blade –  X.Trek – X.Fiber – X.One
192 > 200 cm235230 > 240X.TR – X.Blade – X.Trek – X.Fiber – X.One

 

Choisir sa pagaie « white water »

La taille de la pagaie dépend beaucoup du type de bateaux utilisés. Le volume est à prendre en considération: Une pagaie courte sera intéressante pour le débutant et le Rodéo (difficile de faire des figures avec une pagaie encombrante). Une pagaie plus courte donnera plus de puissance dans les rivières difficiles, où les manoeuvres devront être très précises. Ce tableau est une aide, et n’est en aucun cas quelque chose à imposer. Il reflète simplement la tendance de la pratique sur le marché mondial.

Conseil pour les bateaux à faible volume : considérer la première valeur recommandée en rouge.

Pagaie Whitewater
Taille de l’utilisateurLongueur PagaieModèles de Pagaie
fixeAjustable
droitergonomique
152 > 160 cm 185
194
188 > 198 186 > 190Warrior – Pulse – Blast – W1 – Impact Ride
162 > 170 cm 188
197
191 > 201 188 > 192Warrior – Pulse – Blast – W1 – Impact Ride
172 > 180 cm 191
201
191 > 201 192 > 196Warrior – Pulse – Blast – W1 – Impact Ride
182 > 190 cm 194
204
194 > 204 194 > 198Warrior – Pulse – Blast – W1 – Impact Ride
192 > 200 cm 197
207
194 > 204 190 > 200Warrior – Pulse – Blast – W1 – Impact Ride

 

Choisir sa pagaie « Canöe »

Voici un moyen simple de mesure pour déterminer la longueur d’une pagaie de canöé.
Asseyez-vous sur une chaise ou sur le sol, et mesurez la distance entre vos yeux et l’assise. Cette mesure vous aidera à choisir votre pagaie dans le tableau suivant. Attention ce n’est qu’un moyen de valider une approche; la meilleure chose pour choisir une pagaie, si vous en avez la possibilité, est de faire un essai.

Pagaie Canöé
Mesure relevée Longueur Pagaie Pales Larges Pales Medium
fixe ajustable
66 > 67 cm 130 – C1 C1
71 > 72 cm 135
140 – C1 C1
76 > 77 cm 140
145 140 > 150 C1 C1
81 > 82 cm 145
150 145 > 155 C1 C1
85 > 88 cm 150
155 150 > 160 C1 C1
90 > 91 cm 160 155 > 165 C1 C1
95 > 97 cm 165 155 > 165 C1 C1